Access to the centre

The following streets are pedestrian-only zones in July and August (between 10 a.m. and 5 a.m.):

  • Koning Leopold III-plein
  • Vramboutstraat
  • Steenstraat
  • P. Devauxstraat
  • Kerkstraat (between Koning Leopold III-plein and Zeedijk)
  • Molenstraat
  • Langestraat (between Weststraat and Hoogstraat)
  • Bakkersstraat
  • Vissersstraat
  • Manitoba Square
  • Breydelstraat
  • Nieuwstraat

The traffic-free centre is only accessible to vehicles from 5 a.m. to 10 a.m. Taxis and cyclists always have access.

For urgent deliveries/repairs and access to garages, you can apply for a permit to get through. Permit holders are checked via the number plate of their vehicle with smart cameras. You can apply for a permit online via or at the police station (Scarphoutdreef 1).

Zeedijk closure

The Zeedijk (promenade) is closed to all vehicle traffic from 1 July through 31 August from 10 a.m. to 5 a.m. The Zeedijk is accessible until noon on the 1st, the 15th, the 16th and the 31st of both these months. The police closely monitor the area when the Zeedijk is closed to vehicle traffic.

Cyclists and e-steps can cycle on the Zeedijk throughout the year; however, the walkway is a pedestrians-only zone.

De Smet de Naeyerlaan one-way traffic

From 1 July to 31 August inclusive there will be one-way traffic in De Smet de Naeyerlaan from the station to the port.